ADD A CUSTOM OBJECT

Click on + Add a Custom Object to Add the object you wish to de duplicate. You can select a custom object (Lead / Account / Contact) or a Custom Object. 

THE CUSTOM OBJECTS MENU

1. Creating Matching scenarios

Once you have added an object (custom or standard) to de duplicate, it will be shown under the Custom objects menu. You can then select the Object to create a matching scenario.

  • New Scenario: Click on this button to create a new matching scenario. When you click on this button, a window will pop up to promtt you to enter the scenario Name and description. Enter this information and then select Save to create the scenario. A matching scenario has three parts; Rules, Filter and Master. 

 

Rules: When a scenario is selected you have the ability to create its matching rules or edit these rules. To create a new rule you would click on the yellow 'New' Button.  You will then choose your Field and your match type.  Click on the yellow Save button to save the rule.

To Edit or Delete a current rule you would click on the yellow 'Edit' button next to the rule.  You then will be able to edit it and click on the Save button to save the changes.  You can also delete the rule by clicking on the Red Delete button.

Filters: When a scenario is selected you have the ability to create its filters or edit them. A Filter will have Data Cleanser only search a prat of your Database. For example, you may wish to search only those records in the Country Equal to US.

To create a new filter you click on the yellow 'New' Button.  You will then choose your Field, your matching type, and a matching value.  Click on the yellow Save button to save the filter.

  • To Edit or Delete a current filter you click on the yellow 'Edit' button next to the Filter.  You will then be able to edit the Filter.  Click on the yellow Save button to save the changes.  You can also delete the filter by clicking on the Red 'Delete' button.

Master: You need to ensure that you have a master rule for the scenario in order for Data Cleanser to be able to determine the master records.  The master rule will come into play when you want to perform a multi-select merge (merging more than one duplicate group at the same time) or mass merge. Note that every time you create a scenario, we have added a Master Rule where the Oldest Record would be the Master record. You can keep this as your Master Rule or delete it and create your own Master Rule.

To create a new Master rule you would click on the yellow 'New' button.  You will then choose your Field, your matching type, a match value (if applicable) and a score.  Click on the Save button to save the master rule.

To Edit or Delete a current master rule you would click on the yellow 'Edit' button next to the rule.  You would then be able to edit it and click on the Save button to save the changes.  You can also delete the master rule by clicking on the Red Delete button.

Activation: To activate the scenario and scan your database for duplicates, refer to the green button on the Scenario.  First select the scenario you wish to activate, then select the green 'Activate' button.  Note that the Activate button will only appear if there are no current Active Scenarios.

  • To De-Activate you can then select the scenario you wish to De-Activate and select the  'De-Activate' button.
  • Please note the De-Activate button will only appear if the Scenario is Active
  • You can also delete a scenario by selecting it and clicking on the Garbage Icon.

 

 

 

 

THE CUSTOM OBJECT MERGE RESULTS MENU

MERGING DUPLICATES

This will allow you to view all of the duplicates found by activating a scenario.  You can review the duplicate records and merge them in this section. The groups will be listed on the left hand side of the screen.  If you click on the one group, the details of the records will be shown on the right.

 

 

 

Manual Merge - On the record details, you will select the correct values for every field by choosing the right radio button next to the field.

When a field can have more than one value or if you would like to concatenate the information of a long text field, there will be checkboxes available to you, so that you can check the boxes of the fields you wish to include.

Once all the fields have been properly selected, you simply click on the 'Merge Record' button situated at the top and the bottom of the screen.  This will merge the records records into on record including all related lists (related history) with these records.

Multi-Select Merge - This button will allow you to merge more than one duplicate group at the same time.  By selecting this button, a different screen will pop up with a list of the duplicate groups.  You can then select the groups you wish to merge by clicking on the check box beside the group and then clicking on the check box beside the group and then clicking on the 'Save' button.  These records will then be merged based on the master rule that you have created when you created the matching rule in your matching scenario. 

Mass Merge - This button will allow you to merge all of your duplicates at the same time.  By selecting this button, a different screen will pop up asking if you are sure you would like to proceed with the mass merge.  These records will then be merged based on the master rules that you have created when you created your matching rule your matching scenario.

Merge Options - This section can be found by clicking on the arrow beside 'Merge Record'.  By selecting this arrow, a pop up window appears with three options. The first is 'Options' which will allow you to select the master record if you are doing a manual merge.  The second option "Remove Records from Group' will allow you to remove records from a group if they should not be merged as part of the duplicate group. The last option is 'Remove Group' which will remove the duplicate group from your view. It does not delete the records, just the duplicate group. 

 

THE PREFERENCE MENU

Column Order: 

This preference setting will allow you to re-order the field column for the Merge Screens section to ensure that the fields that are important to you are at the top and will get your immediate attention. Select the object you wish to reorder and this will show you the fields in these particular objects. Simply drag the field into the correct order and click 'Save' when completed.  By unchecking the box next to the field, that field will be omitted from the Merge view.

Word Mapping and Removal

This preference will be used in conjunction with the matching types 'Word Mapping' and 'Word Removal'.  In this section you enter the information for these two matching types to allow Data Cleanser to map values together or ignore certain words when conducting duplicates searches.

View Merge History

This preference will show you what scenarios have been activated, how many duplicates groups were created and how many duplicate records were found and the total number of merges that you performed fro that particular scenario.

Reset Database

This preference setting will allow you to de-activate all scenarios and start over.  This will also remove any duplicate groups in the 'Custom Object Merge Results' section.  You can also use this to stop activation on any scenario that you have activated and wish to abort.  You simply need to select the Object you wish to reset and click on the 'Reset Selected Objects' button.

Warnings

In this section you will have the ability to see if your merging functions are working properly.  If you are encountering problems with merging, this is where to check and where the results will be displayed.  Please contact us if you have any questions on any errors that you are encountering.  We can help to resolve these for you.