THE SCAN YOUR DATABASE MENU

1. Leads

This will allow you to view the leads scenarios, create a new leads scenario, edit an existing leads scenario or activate a leads scenario in order to scan your database for lead duplicates.

  • New Scenario: Click on this button to create a new scenario.  A window will appear when you enter a scenario name and a scenario description.  Click submit to create this new scenario.

 

Rules: When a scenario is selected you have the ability to create its matching rules or edit these rules.

 

To create a new rule you would click on the yellow 'New' Button.  You will then choose your Field and your match type.  Click on the Add/Update button to save the rule.

To Edit or Delete a current rule you would click on the yellow 'Edit' button next to the rule.  You then will be able to edit it and click on the Add/Update button to save the changes.  You can also delete the rule by clicking on the blue Delete button.

Filters: When a scenario is selected you have the ability to create its filters or edit them.

To create a new filter you click on the yellow 'New' Button.  You will then choose your Field, your matching type, and a matching value.  Click on the Add/Update button to save the filter.

  • To Edit or Delete a current filter you click on the yellow 'Edit' button next to the rule.  You will then be able to edit the settings.  Click on the Add/Update button to save the changes.  You can also delete the filter by clicking on the blue 'Delete' button.

Master: You need to ensure that you have a master rule for the scenario in order for Data Cleanser to be able to determine the master records.  The master rule will come into play when you want to perform a multi-select merge (merging more than one duplicate group at the same time) or mass merge.

To create a new Master rule you would click on the yellow 'New' button.  You will then choose your Field, your matching type, a match value (if applicable) and a score.  Click on the Submit button to save the master rule.

To Edit or Delete a current master rule you would click on the yellow 'Edit' button next to the rule.  You would then be able to edit it and click on the Submit button to save the changes.  You can also delete the master rule by clicking on the blue Delete button.

Activation: To activate the scenario and scan your database for duplicates, refer to the top green buttons.  First select the scenario you wish to activate, then select the green 'Activate Scenario' button at the top of the screen.

  • To De-Activate you can then select the scenario you wish to De-Activate and select the green 'De-Activate Scenario' button.
  • You can also delete a scenario by selecting it and clicking on the green 'Delete Scenario' button.

2. Accounts

This will allow you to view the accounts scenarios, create a new accounts scenario, edit an existing accounts scenario or activate an accounts scenario in order to scan your database for account duplicates.  Follow the same steps as noted above for a Lead Scenario.


3. Contacts

This will allow you to view the contacts scenarios, create a new contacts scenario, edit an existing contacts scenario or activate a contact scenario in order to scan your database for contact duplicates.  Follow the same steps as noted above for a Lead Scenario.


4. Leads --> Accounts, Contacts

This will allow you to create a matching scenario to see if any of your lead records are also part of your Contact and/or Account Database. You can select to match a Lead Field to a Contact or Account field. If any matches are found, you will have the ability to convert the lead into an Account/Contact. 

THE MERGE YOUR  DUPLICATE RECORDS MENU

LEADS

This will allow you to view all of the lead duplicates found by activating a scenario in the Scan you Database menu.  You can review the duplicate records and merge them in this section.  The groups will be listed on the left hand side of the screen.  If you click on the one group, the details of the records will be shown on the right.

Manual Merge - On the record details, you will select the correct values for every field by choosing the right radio button next to the field.

When a field can have more than one value or if you would like to concatenate the information of a long text field, there will be checkboxes available to you, so that you can check the boxes of the fields you wish to include.

Once all the fields have been properly selected, you simply click on the yellow 'Merge Record' button situated at the top and the bottom of the screen.  This will merge the records records into on record including all related lists (related history) with these records.

Multi-Select Merge - This button will allow you to merge more than one group duplicates at the same time.  By selecting this button, a different screen will pop up with a list of the duplicate groups.  You can then select the groups you wish to merge by clicking on the check box beside the group and then clicking on the check box beside the group and then clicking on the yellow 'Merge Selected Records' button.  These records will then be merged based on the master rule that you have created when you created the matching rule in the 'Scan your database' selection.

Mass Merge - This button will allow you to merge all of your duplicates at the same time.  By selecting this button, a different screen will pop up asking if you are sure you would like to proceed with the mass merge.  These records will then be merged based on the master rules that you have created when you created your matching rule in the 'Scan your database' section.

ACCOUNTS

This will allow you to view all of the account duplicates found by activating a scenario in the Scan your Database menu.  You can review the duplicate records and merge them in this section.

CONTACTS

This will allow you to view all of the contact duplicates found by activating a scenario in the Scan your Database menu.  You can review the duplicates records and merge them in this section.


THE PREFERENCE MENU

Column Order: 

This preference setting will allow you to re-order the field column in the Clean Duplicates section to ensure that the fields that are important to you are at the top and will get you immediate attention.  Select Leads, Accounts or Contacts and this will show you the fields in these particular objects.  Simply drag the field into the correct order and click 'Save' when completed.  By unchecking the box next to the field, that field will be omitted from the Clean Duplicates view.

Word Mapping and Removal

This preference will be used in conjunction with the matching types 'Word Mapping' and 'Word Removal'.  In this section you enter the information for these two matching types to allow Data Cleanser to map values together or ignore certain words when conducting duplicates searches.

Overflow Settings

In this section you will have the ability to ensure that you do not lose any telephone number or email during the merge. By selecting to have the Overflow Setting set to on, the telephone numbers and email address on a record will be displayed in the Description field. If Data Cleanser sees differences in the telephone number, email or fax fields, these will be displayed in the Description Field. You could then choose to add them to the description in order to keep relevant information on the record.

Auto schedule Scenarios

In this section you will have the ability to see your scheduled scenarios and when they will run.  You will select the object type, the scenario name, and the time and the day that you wish the scenario to run.

View Merge History

This preference will show you what scenarios have been activated, how many duplicates groups were created and how many duplicate records were found and the total number of merges that you performed fro that particular scenario.

Reset Database

This preference setting will allow you to de-activate all scenarios and start over.  This will also remove any duplicate groups in the 'Clean Duplicates' section.  You can also use this to stop activation on any scenario that you have activated and wish to abort.  You simply need to select the Object you wish to reset and click on the yellow 'Reset' button.

Warnings

In this section you will have the ability to see if your merging functions are working properly.  If you are encountering problems with merging, this is where to check and where the results will be displayed.  Please contact us if you have any questions on any errors that you are encountering.  We can help to resolve these for you.